To My Lovely Stranger

Happy White Day, everyone! For those who don’t know, White Day is a holiday in Japan, South Korea, China, and Taiwan that follows exactly one month after Valentine’s Day. In these countries, Valentine’s Day is the day girls give chocolates to the important people in their lives, and White Day is the day to reciprocate if you received anything. In honor of White Day, I undertook a challenge on Habit RPG, part of which asked me to write and send a letter to a dear, lovely stranger. So I created a stranger who is a mishmash of people who I know  and pretended I was in love with them. (Huehuehue, my friends – can you find yourselves?) And so it begins.

Meine Liebe,

Hello. This might seem funny to you, since I don’t know you, but I know you exist. And by now, I probably know where you sleep and what you eat and what your breath smells like in the morning and what you’re like at four in the morning when you’ve rubbed off all of your cologne. In other words, I am onto you.

I am onto you like a child onto hot bread (which is not as intense as you might like). I’m onto the fact that you like your independence, and that you see yourself as separate from me, and that you give me my space. I’m onto what you’re doing when I come home to find a Reese’s egg sitting on my pillow, or when I receive a super cute text from you in the middle of the night, or when you want to hang out with me and promptly tell me so. I am onto how you tell me how you feel and what’s bothering you. I am onto the fact that you feel you don’t need to prove, and don’t need me to prove, the feelings we have for each other, and that you don’t worry about what “messages” are being sent or what “game” we are playing. I am onto how kind and caring you are to everyone around you, how you respect other people’s feelings and ideas almost more than you do your own, how humble you are, how willing you are to learn, how you take the time to pump people up and hold your tongue when you have a negative opinion unless it is helpful.

Please, keep speaking your mind and thinking deeply before you do so. Keep being upfront about when you want things. Keep respecting others and giving them the benefit of the doubt. Keep cheering them on so loudly you get a bad reputation at bowling alleys. Keep respecting other people’s beliefs, as well as your own, even when it’s uncomfortable. Keep being unabashedly you, and having pride in who you are and the things you like. And keep saying no to the people who do not think that you’re worth respect.

Here’s the thing – I love you, meine Liebe, and I want you to stay in my life, just as you are.

And I want to say thank you, too. Thank you for listening to me rant and rave, even when there’s nothing that can be done about what I talk about. Thank you for letting me talk about the heavy things and the important things, and thank you for telling me my perspective is valid. Thank you for letting me spout random cultural knowledge at you even when you’re bored. Thank you for taking an interest in the things you’re not so interested in. Thank you for being kind to me. Thank you for cleaning the apartment. Thank you for taking out the trash. Thank you for baking me food. Thank you for painting pictures. Thank you for encouraging and supporting me. Thank you for speaking your mind. Thank you for being super attractive. Thank you for doing what is healthy for those around you. Thank you for taking my concerns seriously and validating them, even when they might hurt. Thank you for fixing the problems I point out. Thank you for saying you’re sorry. Thank you for taking responsibility. Thank you for including me. Thank you for giving me advice. Thank you for being an adult.

Thank you for being so damn smart, and funny, and sweet, and helpful. Thank you for being so unashamed. Thank you for not judging me. Thank you for laughing with me. Thank you for not taking me for granted. Thank you for not being upset that I will never be dependent on your for my wellbeing, or someone who needs you to save me. Thank you for not taking advantage of me when I make you a priority. Thank you for taking a chance on me. Thank you for trusting me. Thank you for not being upset when I talk about you as if I know you better than you know yourself. Thank you for not being upset that, although I value your opinion, I will occasionally tell you where to shove it. Thank you for putting up with all of my mistakes, temper tantrums, indecision, nosiness, assumptions, and judgments. Thank you for telling me when I’m out of line. Thank you for being gentle while doing so. Thank you for putting up with the things I say without thinking, and the ideas and beliefs I jump to without properly examining them first. Thank you for believing in me and my dreams. Thank you for never doubting me. Thank you for always being on my side. Thank you for loving me even when I’m wrong, or mean, or angry, or sad.

Thank you, meine Lieben.

Liebe Grüße,

Cara.

Happy White Day.

1 Comment

Filed under thoughts

One response to “To My Lovely Stranger

  1. Wow this is beautiful. Gave me some teary eyes. You are very wonderful Cara

Lay your thoughts down?

